top of page

A little night EDM (my first attempt!)

Woah! Since moving to the LA area I’ve been really trying to do as much stuff outside of my comfort zone as I can. And one of the first one was trying a new style of music that I’ve NEVER touched before! Hence my first experiment with Electronic Dance Music.

I found a posting on Backstage.com from a man in the Netherlands (hell yeah, international!) asking to collaborate with singer/songwriter’s on his beats. I listened to several of his beats and prior collaborations to see how the process worked and what he was looking for, and I noticed a lot of the songs were about love or finding the one or partying, and there was one he had titled “Feeling a Bit Sick” because he built the beat when he was sick.

But it was perfect! Because that was exactly how I had been feeling since first moving out. Just a little uneasy, because nothing was familiar yet, I wasn’t sure of any step I took in any direction, everything was just floating without anchor. So I chose to write for that beat inspired by that title. THAT’S RIGHT I wrote the vocal melody and ALL THE LYRICS for this EDM song we collaborated on. I even tried editing it myself on Garageband and thought I didn’t make it sound to bad! But I didn’t love it and he offered to edit it using his more experienced software and I said absolutely.

So here it is! My new experiment: https://soundcloud.com/luzami-lizangel/feeling-a-bit-sick-feat-emilie-doering

I might try to make a music video using it! Who knows? Any ideas? Put them down in the comments!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page