top of page

Angels Vocal Arts - Emerging Artists


July is a slow month in LA–so why not hit the training hard? I’m diving head first into an young artist program with the Angels Vocal Art program. Every morning, we’re attacking Commedia del Arte techniques and characters (I have to admit, my favorite is Pantalone, even though I’ll never get to play him…) and each other, in extensive stage combat training. Followed by endless coachings and rehearsals…. I don’t think I’ve gone to sleep before 11 PM so far this week! Digging into Adina and Fauré’s art songs and really getting into diction and natural cadence for recit (while still keeping with all the appoggiaturas and the like!).

I would really love for you all to the see the final product of what a lot of creative brains connecting the dots between music, history, classic stories, hair pulling, archetypes and symbols, and language can do! And even better, I can get you a discount We have an Impressions and Expressions concert of art song solos and ensemble pieces if you prefer the edgier side of classical music–short and sweet and intense. And then of course, we have two opera scenes concert nights where we perform highlights from favorite operas! Fully staged, with an orchestra. I will be performing Adina from L’Elisir d’amore and Donna Elvira in Don Giovanni (I know, you’re thinking ‘what the fach?’ but it’s just for the famous “Sola in Buio Loco” sextet), and Maria from West Side Story.

You can purchase tickets here for the art songs on July 19th, or the Opera Scenes concert on 28th and 29th. Tickets are really affordable, only $25 for adults, $15 for students, and LESS if you use AVA9452 when you purchase tickets.

I have to admit, I’m psyched about what product we’re about to put on. Even just speaking through the Don Giovanni sextet with these amazing singers was invigorating! And my L’Elisir d’Amore duette with a young tenor named Eric is the first time I’ve ever had to worry about a tenor out singing me! His voice has power, and sitting in a practice room with him as he plunked out our chords and we practiced our harmonies was one of those rare moments of real musical collaboration–with as much listening happening as performing! So please come on by if you are in the LA area because I’d love to see you! And share what my voice is becoming


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page