top of page

Afternoon tea with Schubert and me!


Remember the days when artists and scientists and citizens gathered together in a nice open room and shared music and stories and philosophies? Neither do I because the practice died long before I came around–but I always dreamed of getting to participate in something like the Salons of yore and now I have the chance!!

Center Stage Opera is debuting their new Chamber Ensemble who will be performing Schuberts “Death and the Maiden” (and intense piece of music!), and to lighten up the afternoon, I will be singing some of Schubert’s most popular and beautiful pieces. Du bist die Ruh, Ständchen, and Gretchen am Spinnrade to be precise! It’s an incredible opportunity, and I’m really excited to be singing some lieder out here in California. It’s kind of my LA classical music debut! And to be honest, I’m starting to get a little more nervous, but the music is so beautiful all I have to do is get lost in it and I know I’ll find my way!

Goodness gracious, I’ve been putting in a lot of exclamation points, but I guess that’s what happens when you get excited. The concert is coming up fast; it’s on Sunday, June 11th, at 2 PM in the Westfield Promenade Mall in Woodland Hills. If you’d like to purchase tickets, they can be found here, or for more information you can call (818) 517-4102.

Truly, it should be an incredible way to see these german art songs as they were originally intended to be heard–in a private, intimate setting between performer and audience, on a beautiful summer afternoon before it’s time to go to happy hour!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page